Footpath

Capture the moment, no. Live it, yes. Every time I travel the Oxford Road, the spreading views and the endless skies chime with something beyond words in me. People have been this way for generations, and they too will have known the spaced, wayside oaks, gnarled, leafless and poised for early Spring. Perhaps some have walked the footpath I see to my left. It’s clearly not used much now. In the far distance I see a church tower.  I realise I know it. I have stood by a stile there among its surrounding graves and looked this way, across the fields. This footpath, by the winding, fast but ancient road, leads to that church.  Capture the moment, no. Live it, where the church tower takes in past and now. Yes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

