Highgate Pond

Early September. The Jewish New Year begins next week. I’ve written about this season before. The golden light of recent days again brings memories of  the 30 years that Mrs Llew and I, and our daughters, spent in North London, and of our Jewish neighbours – and my Jewish friends and fellow volunteers at Brent Samaritans, during the 1980s and 1990s. And I remember the quiet streets of Temple Fortune at this time – little  traffic – where families in all their generations and finery made their way to the synagogue.  My memories too, of Highgate pond at this time, where I swam of a luminous early morning, as a light mist rose from the waters.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

