Blue and Gold

I remember a spiral staircase. I climbed it four days a fortnight for 13 years. Sometimes I mounted it in the dark, for it had no light. My feet knew the way. Winter and summer. At the top of the stair is the mechanism of a clock. It had weights controlling its mechanism, its quarter chimes, and the bell which counted each hour, day and night.  I wound that clock with a great key which needed both hands and arms to turn it. People who had lived nearby for years found it a great comfort.

Outside, on the church tower wall  the clock face was painted blue and gold.

I thought of that clock tonight as I looked out at the harvest field, work at a standstill because of the rain. In the near distance the crop was old gold. Further on, where it had already been cut, the stubble was a light gold.. The evening sky was blue but with pastel grey clouds infused with red, from the sunset.

And I remembered the clock.

And winding it by hand for 13 years.

I don’t know whether it is still wound by hand but it is at St Mary at Finchley, London. You can find it on the web.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

