A Year and a Day – or Two

This blog, on WordPress, is a year and two days old. If I were writing a report for an annual meeting I don’t know how I would assess it.

It has changed and grown. I have dwelt not only on the past of my family but the changes people of my age have seen in the past 50 years.

Also on what is timeless: for instance, a golden scene of early harvest this evening at the bottom of my road – and the hints and glimpses of eternity such moments give.

During this year I have discerned a richness and a warmth in our existing family life,  for which Mrs Llew and I are eternally grateful.

We have great happiness. Those who are its cause will know what I mean. We thank you.

But we long to extend our greetings and welcome.  Again, those who are in our minds and whom we love, will know our meaning and our wish. This blog remains a ‘digital trail.’

We have a daughter who is a year older than in the first days of this blog,  I copy a post I put up last year, a day after her birthday.

 (I  should point out that the ‘masthead’ of the blog has changed from July last year.)

Lonesome Road – Digital Trail

Posted on July 17, 2010 by lleweton

Reflecting on this blog leads me to see that I am trying to do two things with it.

It stems from a deep family sadness about which I can do and say nothing. The first aim is that I want to give expression to it while having no way of describing it.  It has triggered much  reflection on the past but this is something which would have happened anyway. As I have said: I am nearly 75. It’s a time to look back on one’s life anyway.

The second intention or hope of this blog has been perhaps to indicate what life is like for any elderly person  to whom the Four Last Things – against the scale of our years -cannot be anything but imminent.

Certainly, circumstances referred to in the first aim heighten the urgency of the second.

Maybe the two aims don’t mix, although the second is consequent on the first. 

Two elderly ladies who worshipped at the same church as I did 20  years ago were in serene agreement when one said: ‘I’m packed and ready to go’.  I’m not at that point yet.

I shan’t hurry to add to this blog. I’ll see what happens. As the lovely picture I was given  as its heading indicates, it’s a lonesome road and there is a ‘heavy load’ – but I  journey on.

And perhaps  help will come via a digital trail ….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Year and a Day – or Two

  1. churchmouse says:

    Llew, how quickly time flies! Somehow, I thought you had started your blog sometime in August.

    My apologies for being late with this reply. Congratulations on your first anniversary. I look forward to your second year of blogging.

    Yours is a shining jewel in the crown of the blogosphere. May it long continue!

    Cheers and all best wishes!
    Churchmouse

    • lleweton says:

      Thank you Churchmouse. Your encouragement of this blog has been vital. I want to continue with it while I am sure that what I have to say at any one time is worth saying.

Leave a Reply

